Madre Silva cor Lilac Sts. Roxas District, Quezon City, Philippines
It was from the great yearning of the people of Roxas District for regular Sunday masses that the first steps to the establishment of Holy Family Parish-Roxas were taken. The request was granted by Fr. Thomas Pacano, SVD, primarily by celebrating masses under the big acacia tree of General Roxas Elementary School. Later on, a small chapel was built on an open lot in a nearby location which was, unfortunately, wrecked by the strength of Typhoon Fran in December 1950. Despite this devastating event, the faith of the people of Roxas District remained strong and unbreakable.
The destruction of the small chapel brought to light the idea of establishing a larger place of worship in the street of Madre Silva corner Lilac. The newly built chapel was finished by the 27th of January 1953, the feast day of the Holy Family. It was on September 16 of the same year that Holy Family Parish in Roxas District was canonically erected.
Years passed, and the community of Roxas District grew. This highlighted the need for a more spacious church. By 1966, after accumulating sufficient funds, the construction of a bigger Holy Family Parish Roxas church began. On the 14th of December 1968, the new parish church was inaugurated and blessed by Manila Archbishop Rufino Cardinal Santos.
Through the years, Holy Family Parish – Roxas has continued to grow as a community with the help of its parish priests. Instrumental to this growth is the parish church which serves as a place where one could visit for prayers, sacraments, and celebrations of the Holy Mass. The parish church also serves as a safe place for everyone, especially the needy, street-dwellers, and victims of calamities.
Holy Family Parish – Roxas is more than the marvelous architecture and displays of the church. It is the love, faith, and unity among the people of Roxas District that makes the parish and its church extraordinarily unique and beautiful.