Pope Francis Announces Five (5) New Cardinals

Vatican City - The Holy Father gave the Church five new cardinals on Wednesday, June 28, 2017, in Saint Peter’s Basilica. 

Pope Francis presided over an ordinary public consistory for the creation of cardinals – who are representative members of the clergy in Rome, and whose duties are to elect the Bishop of Rome (or the next pope), to advise the pontiff, and to assist him in governing the Universal Church.

The five news cardinals are: Bishop Louis-Marie Ling Mangkhanekhoun of Pakse, Laos; Monsignor Gregorio Rosa Chavez of San Salvador, El Salvador; Archbishop Jean Zerbo of Bamako, Mali; Bishop Anders Arborelius of Stockholm, Sweden; and Archbishop Juan Jose Omella of Barcelona, Spain. 

Cardinals are often referred to as “Princes of the Church”, but the Holy Father’s homily on the occasion focused on service. He said that God has not called the new cardinals to become “princes” in the Church, but to become servants of God and His people.

Pope Francis and the new cardinals paid Benedict XVI a visit at his residence in Mater Ecclesiae Monastary after the consistory. The new cardinals also concelebrated Mass with the Pope in Saint Peter's Square on June 29. 

The consistory took place on the eve of the Solemnity of Saint Peter and Saint Paul, apostles, martyrs, and patrons of the Church of Rome. (ME/Cubao Media)